A Review of Mostly Harmless and Books I’m Currently Reading

Good afternoon!

I came back from vacation a week ago though I’ve been so busy with going back to work and reading that I haven’t had much chance to post a review on the last book I finished. My vacation was very adventurous by the way including a first for flying and traveling across country in a moving van. So here is my delayed review and news about what I’m currently reading. Enjoy!

I really enjoyed reading this book despite the ending that seemed to not really be an ending and was rather confusing.
I was so excited to see Arthur living happily and then suddenly, that happiness in the form of the love of his life disappears as he finds himself on another adventure in space in search of the question to forty two and what it may have to do with everyone around him, particularly Fenny.
Eventually Arthur is able to find happiness on a planet similar to Earth while living a very simple life in the form of no technology and being known at The Sandwich Maker. Then out of the blue, Trillian appears with a little girl and he find out that the girl is named Random and she’s his daughter. I laughed when I realized that out of his donations of sperm, his just happened to be mixed with Trillian to form a girl who is confused, angry at the world in general & wondering where she fits in.
This book also brings Ford back into the picture who also seems to mess up Arthur ‘s plans & yet there’s a friendship of sorts.
There was insight into Trillian in a parallel universe who made different choices & had quite a different life.
This book certainly jumped around & came up with many surprised and left a lot of questions behind. This book was very random but I really didn’t mind & found it entertaining.
I wasn’t happy with how the book ended but I am still glad I read it. If Adams were able to give answers, I’d probably have questions a mile long.
Looking forward to the next book which is called And Another Thing that wasn’t written by Adams but is in the same universe & hopefully answer a lot of the questions. It was written by Eoin Colfer who was a big fan of Adams’ work and was given the go ahead by Adams’ widow to continue the series. I enjoyed reading his first Artemis Fowl book and I’m hopeful that he’ll do a great job on representing Adams.

In other news, I am currently reading three books at once which isn’t as hard to do as I thought it would be. I’m reading Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost which is first in her Prince series and touches briefly on characters from her Night Huntress series. I haven’t read that series but from reading the blurbs on the series, I recognized Cat and Bones. So far, I’m very much enjoying it and have the first e-book in her other series that I mentioned which is for sure on my to be read list. I won’t give away the details of Once Burned but will comment that it’s a very entertaining read and plan to read the rest of the books in the series.

The second book I am reading is The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien. My wonderful boyfriend bought me the LOTR set including the Hobbit that are pocket sized and leather bound. They are smooth to the touch and came in a beautiful case. It’s my first time doing a read through of Tolkien’s series and I’m enjoying the details that he puts into his world and explaining more about the Hobbits. I’m enjoying learning more details about the Hobbits and looking forward to what more I will learn by reading the books. I’ve seen the movies countless times so it’s about time that I read the books.

The third book I am reading is The Outlandish Companion by Diana Gabaldon. I own the original and borrowed the updated version (released 2015) to see the difference between the two. I’m enjoying reading the updated material which talks about the t.v. show which had its first season last Fall. Both of these books talk about the first four books that she wrote, the details that went into the writing and other fascinating tidbits that are worth reading especially if you’re into her Outlander Series. It may take me a while to read through the whole book though I’m sure it’s more than worth the time. What I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on is the Volume 2 that will be released in October and will talk about her last four books that she has written.

Books Mentioned and their links
Mostly Harmless by Douglass Adams-https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/360.Mostly_Harmless?from_search=true&search_version=service
And Another Thing by Eoin Colfer- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6359434-and-another-thing?from_search=true&search_version=service
Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/249747.Artemis_Fowl
Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7039218-once-burned?from_search=true&search_version=service
Halfway to the Grave Jeaniene Frost- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1421990.Halfway_to_the_Grave
The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34.The_Fellowship_of_the_Ring?from_search=true&search_version=service
The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5907.The_Hobbit?from_search=true&search_version=service
The Outlandish Companion (Updated and Revised) by Diana Gabaldon- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23995404-the-outlandish-companion-revised-and-updated?from_search=true&search_version=service
The Outlandish Companion by Diana Gabaldon- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10989.The_Outlandish_Companion?from_search=true&search_version=service
The Outlandish Companion Volume 2 by Diana Gabaldon- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24974121-the-outlandish-companion-volume-two?from_search=true&search_version=service

So I hope you’ve enjoyed my ramblings and tune in soon to see what next will be on my list.

Slainte

~M

Leave a Reply

