Reviewing Magic Bites and Bookish News

Good evening,

I first picked up Magic Bites at a Barnes and Noble last October when it happened to be for sale in the discount section. I had heard about the series and was curious whether it would be a series I’d enjoy. After reading this book, I can say that it is indeed a series that I would like to continue reading.

Kate Daniels is a young female Mercenary who knows her way around swords and combat particularly of the magical variety and there’s more than meets the eye with her. She lives in a world where magic and technology do not mix though she’s learned to find a common ground between the two. Kate is used to being on her own and is uncomfortable at the thought of being in charge of protecting another person though she will when hired. Most of her family passed on years ago and the only person she has left is her mentor Greg who over the years tried to keep an eye on Kate. When Greg is found dead, Kate sets out to find the killer and learns that there’s something sinister hanging around Atlanta that’s making the shape changers, run by the Beast Lord Curran and a group called The People who seem to be run by a number of people and include several creatures who are able to control the vampires, uneasy.

Curran is a shifter in the form of a huge lion, is the ruler of his pride that consists of different shifters such as werewolves, a huge werebear, leopards, and wererats to name some of the species under his dominion. He’s testy, handsome in his human form, one of the few able to shift smoothly from human to lion, powerful and used to being the one in charge where his word is law though is a loner in the sense of not having family around him. He reluctantly teams with Kate after she comes highly recommended though doesn’t quite know what to make of Kate after spending time with her. He had assumed that she was just a Mercenary who’s easily swayed and soon learns that’s not the case. Curran just wants to get to the bottom of the killings and get back to protecting those under his care but it’s not quite that easy.

Curran and Kate make quite the time though both don’t seem to notice how well they do or stubbornly refuse to admit it. She’s a funny, smart, sassy woman pulls no punches and doesn’t run from danger just because it’s there. He’s a smart, often grumpy, strong man who also doesn’t run from danger but unlike Kate, it used to protecting a good sized amount of people. Another interesting thing I found out is that both seem to come from powerful bloodlines though it’s not revealed as to where and from what lineage. There isn’t a love story between these two as of yet but there’s for sure something starting to brew. I think Curran likes the fact that Kate doesn’t melt into a puddle at his feet and will go toe to toe with him on most issues while also being exasperated with her at times. From their interactions and temperaments in general, I think they’d make a great powerful couple at some point in the near future.

This book was full of mystery, magic, adventure and laughter in a post-apocalyptic setting where magic and technology are fighting for dominance. When the magic is up, most of modern technology doesn’t work including most cars, electricity and most phones. It’s always a pleasure to read about a heroine who can hold her own and understands her own powers such as Kate does. I enjoyed the different take on how vampires and shifters are viewed in this particular world. The concept of vampires being mindless creatures if not control is an interesting concept and certainly different than most of the paranormal books I’ve read. I also enjoyed the variety of shifters that included bears and a variety of different species of wild cats.

What surprised me the most was who the killer turned out to be. Just as I thought I was starting to figure out who it was, I was thrown for a loop. The killer was right there on the fringe of things but didn’t make it obvious until nearly the end. Throughout the book, there were clues as to who it was but it certainly was a twist to learn the identity of the killer who wasn’t as he seemed.

This particular version that I read came with extras including Curran’s POV of encountering Kate, tidbits about the characters and a glimpse into the next book. Overall, I was impressed with the book and I am looking forward to seeing what the next book will reveal of Kate, Curran and their world mixed with magic and technology. I think it is for sure worth a read and hope to soon be able to read all of the books in this series.

Other Bookish News:

The First book that I am currently reading is The Fellowship of the Ring. I haven’t had much time to get far with this book as I’ve mostly been reading it at night before bed. I find Tolkien’s descriptions soothing and love trying to imagine the kind of beauty that’s talked about in the book without trying to rely too much on the movie version. I’ve just gotten to the part in the book where The Hobbits encounter Strider and Frodo is still wondering why Gandalf hasn’t appeared. I am looking forward to reading what next will happen.

The second book that I’m currently reading is the fourth book of Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan. It’s been a while since I’ve read the other books in this series so it took me a bit to remember what had happened but not long to get sucked right into the story. This is one of my favorite series particularly since it depicts Greek Mythology mixed with modern technology. Percy is a demigod whose dad just happens to be Poseidon and he’s only learned about his dad within the last couple of years. In this book, Percy finds himself trying to locate the creator of the Labyrinth along with his friend Annabeth, Grover, and his half brother Tyson. Percy keeps having strange dreams that vary from viewing events that happened in the past, to seeing what’s going on with his former friend Luke and Nico who just happens to be the son of Hades and blames Percy for his sister’s death. I’m over halfway done with the book and Percy has managed to get himself as well as his friends out of another scrape and I’m hoping they are close to locating the owner as well as trying to stop Luke from his latest scheme of trying to free Kronos. I can’t wait to see what next will happen!

The third book that I plan to read soon is called Acts of Creation which an advanced reading copy of Elisabeth Staab’s latest book. It is the second book in her Evergreen Grove Series that’s about Dante and Michelle. I’ve been anxiously waiting for this to be released and plan to dive right into it, probably shortly after I am finished with The Labyrinth book.

So that wraps up my current bookish news. I’m also looking forward to picking up Sherrilyn Kenyon’s latest book called Dragonbane that gets released today! It may be a while before I can get to read it but it will be nice to finally have the book itself within my grasp. I love reading any book that she writes and I’m never disappointed in any of her stories.

Books Mentioned In This Post

Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38619.Magic_Bites

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34.The_Fellowship_of_the_Ring?from_search=true&search_version=service

The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2120932.The_Battle_of_the_Labyrinth?ac=1

Acts of Creation by Elisabeth Staab- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25913434-acts-of-creation?from_search=true&search_version=service

Dragonbane by Sherrilyn Kenyon- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22719550-dragonbane?ac=1

This concludes another post involving my bookish rambling. Be sure to tune in soon to see my next review and what other bookish information I’ll be excited to share.

Slainte,

~M

Leave a Reply

