A Review of Changeless

Good evening,

It has been a couple of weeks since I last posted a review as I have been busy with work and getting caught up in reading. Sometimes I get so engrossed or am so eager to start the next book that I put a review aside and will sometimes take a while to get back to it. Now that I am on my third book in two weeks which I happen to be nearly done with, I’d like to go back a bit and talk about the book Changeless by Gail Carriger.

I found this wonderful series after a recommendation from a friend who introduced me to this fascinating world by saying that I really need to read this series and to start out with Soulless. I wasn’t sure if it would be my kind of read but I was proven wrong after reading the first ten pages of the book. I was hooked and couldn’t put it down. I’m so glad things ended on a happy note in that particular book and I couldn’t wait to read the next book in the series which is Changeless.

This world takes place in Victorian England though has a twist because it’s a fascinating mix of Steampunk and creatures of myth such as werewolves, vampires, ghosts, and those who are said to have no soul.

This is where Alexia comes in who has recently married her werewolf, Lord Maccon, Early of Woolsey whose bark seems to be worse than his bite unless he’s protecting his own and his Scottish accent shows up particularly when he’s upset. Alexia was born without a soul and is the only one of her kind in England who can render vamps and werewolves temporarily human and exorcise ghosts. She is probably one of the few that can put up with his temperament and match him toe to toe. When he yells, she’s not afraid to yell back and knows many ways to calm him down. She awakens one morning to find him gone and it’s only through determination and not giving up that she’s able to locate where he’s gone to which is Scotland. Trouble is brewing and there’s a mysterious epidemic that’s going around which is temporarily rendering vamps and werewolves alike human and exorcising ghosts.

Alexia hires a dirigible crew to take her to Scotland to find out what’s going on and to warn her husband who appears to be on his way to deal with his old clan. She reluctantly brings her best friend Ivy, one very annoying half sister, Madame Lefoux who is a French inventor as well as an old friend of Lord Maccon, a French maid, and Tunstell who is hoping to be turned into a werewolf some day.

Once Alexia and her crew gets to Scotland, it’s quite the culture shock and they learn that Maccon’s former clan has been without an Alpha and human for several months. Alexia is determined to find out what’s going on and how to put a stop to this problem that could very well kill her husband and affect everyone that she cares for.

Something even more sinister seems to be on the horizon and Alexia isn’t sure who she can trust after her room is ransacked and strange things seem to be happening. Well stranger than usual that is and Maccon’s former clan isn’t  being too helpful with trying to figure out what’s going on before it’s too late. By some luck, Alexia is able to figure out the soarce of the problem though it leaves her with questions about her own heritage and determined to let as few people know about this powerful weapon as possible.

I love Alexia and how she’s not afraid to speak her mind nor afraid to let people know how smart she is without trying to be a know it all. She doesn’t back down from a fight and isn’t prone to hysterics unlike Ivy and her half sister who seem to be in some sort of competition for poor Tunstell. She’s fiercely protective of those she cares for and doesn’t choose to reveal that she’s a mujah until it’s absolutely necessary.

Ivy seems to be rather clueless and dramatic at times. She is rather amusing in her own way though and I found myself laughing over some of her antics. Despite being on the flighty side, I think she does balance Alexia out and does have a kind hard who really just wants to love Tunstell without worrying about what others might think of her being with him.

I found it fascinating with the mixture of Egyptian mythology connected to where werewolves once came from and the reason behind why they refuse to be a part of anything with archaeology. According to legend, the only way that someone can be turned into a werewolf is by having excess soul and being turned by an Alpha who is able to shift their features into the head of an Anubis. I’m really curious as to whether Alexia may go to that part of the country to learn more about her husband’s heritage one day.

The ending of the book was quite shocking and I think a certain werewolf should be clubbed on the head for saying and thinking such cruel things. No one is expecting what happens and I think that it could have been handled a lot better than getting a temper and being quick to jump to conclusions. Then again, leaving things on such a cliffhanger does draw me into being eager to read what next will happen in the third book.

Overall, this book was full of humor, a few steamy scenes, mystery and a fascinating parasol that is truly a work of art. I can’t wait to see what next Alexia, her friends and family will be up to and where she may next find herself going.

In other news, the first book I am currently reading is The Fellowship. J.R.R. Tolkien really had a way with words and he’s so very detailed in his descriptions. He has a way of drawing me in and it’s hard to put down though I am trying to take my time to savor because there’s so much to absorb.

The second book I am currently reading is called Bloodhound by Tamora Pierce. It’s the second book in a series about the life of Beka Cooper who is a Dog in Corus that is smart, funny and fiercely protective of those she cares for while also very shy when attempting to talk in front of a group of people. I am anxious to read how things turn out and what justice will be served.

Books Mentioned In This Post

Soulless by Gail Carriger- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6381205-soulless

Careless by Gail Carriger- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6933876-changeless

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34.The_Fellowship_of_the_Ring?from_search=true&search_version=service

Bloodhound by Tamora Pierce- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/153779.Bloodhound?from_search=true&search_version=service

This concludes my bookish ramblings…for now. I have another review that will be coming up shortly. I am flying through Bloodhound so it shouldn’t be too long until I post my views on the book and what next I plan to read. So be sure to check back soon to find out what next I plan to take from my to be read list pile.

Slainte

~M

Leave a Reply

