A Review of The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan

Good evening,

Reading about Percy Jackson’s adventures is always a mixture of amusement and wondering what will happen next to him and those he cares for. This book didn’t disappoint and was action packed within a few pages. There was excitement from beginning to end that had my attention and was hard to put down.

From the time Percy was about twelve years old, he’s been preparing for a Prophesy that involves one of the Demigods having to make a choice on their sixteenth birthday that will either save or destroy the world. Percy is so sure that it’s him and with his birthday less than a week away, he’s nervous as to what choice he may have to make, how to defeat Kronos, his conflicted feelings between to girls and learning enough to get a driver’s license.

When Blackjack lands on the roof of his stepdad’s Prius while he is on a drive with Miss Dare, he knows that his time for trying to be a regular teenager has come to an end. Everyone at Camp Half Blood is preparing for war hitting New York City how to stop Kronos, Typhon, and the rest of the Titans from taking over Mount Olympus.

Percy soon learns the full Prophesy meant for him which leaves a lot of questions and fears that may result in him dying. He doesn’t let that fear stop him though and realizes that he’ll need the help of his friends in order to attempt to stop Kronos before the world becomes ruled once again by the Titans.

With the Gods away fighting the Titans, it’s up to Percy, his friends, family and powers to attempt to keep the Titans from taking over New York City. Things are not what they seem, dreams are more than just in the mind and soon Percy will come to find out that Prophesies have a double meaning. And just when things start to make sense for this son of Poseidon, Percy will come to realize that the weapons he needed to help fight the Titans were right in front of him all the time.

This was one of my favorite books in the series despite knowing that this is the last one. I found myself laughing out loud quite a bit particularly from Percy’s point of view. He may be a Demigod but he’s also a teenage boy who’s trying to help save the world while also coming to terms with a world he’s only known about since the age of twelve and powers that are slowly growing. It was interesting to see him conflicted about his feelings though eventually he realizes that the girl he is most interested in wasn’t who he initially expected to be with.

I loved reading about Poseidon’s world and getting a glimpse into the God of the Ocean’s world that Percy hadn’t had many chances to see. Hopefully he’ll get to see more of his Dad’s world some day in a future series of books and when things aren’t quite so hectic.

What surprised me the most was learning about the reasons behind the Oracle being in the state she currently is, Luke’s mother and the new Oracle that seemed ordinary at first. I didn’t see it coming until near the end and was relieved that nothing bad happened in the process.

Overall, I very much enjoyed this story and I couldn’t help reading this story quickly though I wanted to take my time. There’s another Prophesy that is spoken towards the end of that book that has me wondering what will happen next and can’t wait to see what Percy will be up to in future series. Riordan really has quite the way with words that has drawn me in from the first book.

In other bookworm news, I haven’t gotten very far in reading. The first book I am reading is still the Fellowship which is full of fascinating adventures and I felt bad for the Hobbits having to go through such miserable weather on their journey. Strider doesn’t want to risk the chance for being followed particularly after the incident in Bree which is a very smart thing to keep in mind. Things are slowly starting to improve in the weather department and I know most are eagerly looking forward to finally reading Rivendell.

The second book I am currently reading is the audio book of Archangel’s Shadows. From the moment I started listening, things have been very interesting and one of the characters comes close to dying. I’m really curious as to what next will happen and the love story that seems to be developing.

Books Mentioned In This Post:

The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4502507-the-last-olympian?from_search=true&search_version=service

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34.The_Fellowship_of_the_Ring?ac=1

Archangel’s Shadows by Nalini Singh- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17409835-archangel-s-shadows

Well that wraps up my bookish news for the time being. Thank you all for being so patient as I slowly update my reviews. I’m looking forward to the cooler Fall weather where I can curl up with my books, a comfortable blanket and a steaming cup of hot tea with lemon and honey. It is a my favorite time of year and I am ready to say farewell to the heat. So please tune in as I will be posting another book review, what I’m reading and other bookish ramblings.

Slainte

~M

Leave a Reply

