A Review of The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Good afternoon,

I first learned of this book while waiting for my first flight in Minneapolis to Tacoma, Washington. While looking around at the exciting things going on while having mixed feelings of nervousness and excitement at the prospect of flying, my boyfriend directed my attention to someone reading The Rosie Project. I’m always on the lookout for books to add to my collection so I looked it up on GoodReads to read the synopsis and thought it might be the kind of book I’d like. I’m so glad my boyfriend pointed it out to me because otherwise I may have missed out on such an interesting book.

Don Tillman is a thirty nine year old Australian Professor of Genetics who is brilliant, socially awkward and lives life on his own terms. His closest friends are Gene who is also a professor and his wife Claudia who are in an open marriage though Gene is the only one that’s chosen to sleep around. Don runs a tight schedule including meals, sleeping, exercising and teaching classes. He reminds me of Sheldon from the Big Bang Theory, minus most of the snarkiness.

After much thought and realizing how lonely he truly is, he decides to start the Wife Project which is a sixteen double sided page of questionnaires. He’s so certain he’ll find his perfect mate and eliminate any of the few but awkward dates from the past. Then there’s a monkey wrench thrown into his Wife Project in the form of Rosie Jarman.

She seems to be everything he doesn’t want in a wife. She smokes, drinks, swears, won’t eat meat and generally seems to be a whirlwind of emotions that turns Don’s world upside down in just the ways that are needed. Rosie is seeking to find out who her real Dad is, stressed about work and has a lot of issues she’s trying work through. When Gene recommends Rosie ask Don for help, Rose is surprised that Don agrees and in fact puts his Wife Project aside.

All Rosie really has to go on is stories her Mother mentioned before dying, a few friends that she’s known most of her life and a picture that Don is able to find. This project takes them from Australia to New York, California and then back home. Rosie helps Don to slowly open up, relax and realize that there’s more to life than his own little world he was determined to stay in. On this journey to locate her mystery Dad, these two start to realize that they aren’t quite so different and that maybe what they’ve been looking for has been near all along.

It didn’t take me long to realize that Don is a highly functioning Autistic who has never been formally diagnosed as such but shows certain characteristics. Being that he’s nearly forty, it’s understandable that his family and doctors may have been stumped to his condition due to not having a lot of understanding in that department. I loved how Graeme showed that just because someone has a certain personality type, doesn’t mean that they can’t show love nor be loved in return. Don is different than most people due to his Autism but he’s also amazingly smart and wants to have a partner to share his life with like other people. Rosie knows that he’s different but that doesn’t stop her from enjoying his company and eventually falling in love with him.

This book had moments where I was gasping from laughing so hard, particularly the part in the book where Don was attempting to dance with someone and was executing the moves according to the book he had read but it wasn’t matching up to his partners. After his partner walks off in a huff, Rosie steps in and they are able to find movement that works. That particular scene is where I realized that these two could make a great couple once they work through some issues.

There were moments when my heart went out to both of them and times that I wanted to realize how great they were for each other before it was too late. Overall, I very much enjoyed this book and tried to sneak in more time than I usually do to find out what would next happen to this unlikely pair.

They say opposites attract and I’d say that Don and Rosie for sure fall under that category. I loved the ending of this book and I am eager to see what next these two will be up to in the sequel.

In other bookish news, I am still currently reading the Fellowship. I found myself curled up one morning, unable to stop reading when one of the Wraiths pierces Frodo because I wanted to know what would happen next. Much to my surprise, two hours had passed and I had to stop because work was calling my name. It was interesting how the person who helps save Frodo from the Wraiths is an elf but not who I thought it would be. I’m looking forward to what next happens on their journey and what kind of descriptions of Rivendell will be mentioned.

The second book I am listening to is Archangel’s Shadow. It’s a great book to listen to while I’m walking because it’s been mostly action packed from the beginning and inspires me to walk faster and hear the story play out. I’m not one to listen to a lot of audio books but they do come in handy especially on days when I can’t bring out my regular book to read due to the weather or am busy doing something and I still want to have something to listen to other than music.

The third book I am reading is called Celtic Moon by Jan DeLima. I’ve just started it and all I really know is that it involves Celtic Wolves living in Maine, a threat and a woman looking to speak to the father of her teenager son. I think I’m going to enjoy this book, particularly since there are Celtic aspects and wolves involved. Can’t go wrong with that combination in my book.

Books Mentioned In This Post

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16181775-the-rosie-project

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34.The_Fellowship_of_the_Ring?ac=1

Archangel’s Shadows by Nalini Singh- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17409835-archangel-s-shadows

Celtic Moon by Jan DeLima- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17347646-celtic-moon

Well that concludes my bookish ramblings for today. Thank you so much for tuning in and I will be updating again soon with a book that I recently finished. I seem to be reading more books and getting behind on the reviews because it’s been hard to put down those books lately. Not to worry though as I am slowly catching up and will try not to overload myself in the future. Stay tuned for what next I may have up my sleeve.

Slainte

~M

Leave a Reply

