A Double Review: Egyptian Mythology and Scottish Dukes!

Good afternoon,

I recently finished two books and decided to combine them because sometimes I just enjoy writing about two different books in one post! Both of these books I was very fortunate to receive the physical ARCs of and I’d love to read the next books in the series when they are announced! Also both of these books were just released yesterday!

So without further ado, my reviews:

The Intuitives

33233918

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

I generously received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
This book was so addicting that I finished it in less than two days. I couldn’t wait to find out what the Homeland Security wanted with a group of six kids and then later to learn of their special abilities.

It started out with an Egyptian man named Amr with archaologists at the Tomb of Alexander the Great and something is let loose but it’s not revealed until later.
I loved learning about different mythological creatures, how an unlikely group of kids learned how to work together and finally learning a bit about what was going on.

It was frustrating trying to figure out why the kids were brought to a boarding school of sorts to learn about their unconscious abilities but that’s a good thing because I couldn’t pull myself away. I spent most of my Sunday devouring this book (a little over 300 pages after I read an initial 120) and was surprised when reaching the end. This book was that good and I haven’t read over three hundred pages in one day in a long time. When the truth behind why these kids were gathered together was revealed, I was so excited!

This unlikely band of young adults are smart, quick learners and very talented. They figured out a good portion of what they could do before Amr comes clean and explains what’s going on.
This book was a fascinating mix of mystery, adventure, humor, magic and the power of believing in the unexpected.
From the way it ended, I really hope there’s a sequel because I want to know more and see what next adventure could be around the corner! If you like a bit of Egyptian myth tossed in with the modern world, you’ll really enjoy this book. Plus there’s an adorable Gryphon!

Too Scot To Handle

TSTH Banner.jpeg

scot_450.jpg

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

tooscottohandle-sharegraphic02

tooscottohandle-sharegraphic04 (1)Windham Brides

Those covers are so pretty, I want  them all!

Excerpt:

He’d taken care that this kiss be private, and thus unhurried.

    Anwen liked the unhurried part exceedingly. Lord Colin held her not as if she were frail and fragile, but as if she were too precious to let go. His arms were secure about her, and he’d tucked in close enough that she could revel in his contours—broad chest, flat belly, and hard, hard thighs, such as an accomplished equestrian would have.

    Soft lips, though. Gentle, entreating, teasing…

    Anwen teased him back, getting a taste of peppermint for her boldness, and then a taste of him.

    “Great day in the morning,” he whispered, right at her ear. “I won’t be able to sit my horse if you do that again with your tongue.”

    She did it again, and again, until the kiss involved his leg insinuated among the folds and froths of her riding habit, her fingers toying with the hair at his nape, and her heart, beating faster than it had at the conclusion of their race.

    “Ye must cease, wee Anwen,” Lord Colin said, resting his cheek against her temple. “We must cease, or I’ll have to cast myself into yonder water for the sake of my sanity.”

    “I’m a good swimmer,” Anwen said. “I’d fish you out.” She contemplated dragging a sopping Lord Colin from the Serpentine, his clothes plastered to his body….

    “Such a sigh,” he said, kissing her cheek. “If ye’d slap me, I’d take it as a mercy.”

    “I’d rather kiss you again.” And again and again and again. Anwen’s enthusiasm for that undertaking roared through her like a wild fire, bringing light, heat, and energy to every corner of her being.

    “You are a bonfire in disguise,” he said, smoothing a hand over her hair. “An ambush of a woman, and you have all of polite society thinking you’re the quiet one.” He peered down at her, his hair sticking up on one side. “Am I the only man who knows better, Anwen?”

    She smoothed his hair down, delighting in its texture. Red hair had a mind of its own, and by the dawn’s light, his hair was very red.

    “No, you are not the only one who knows better,” she said, which had him looking off across the water, his gaze determined.

    “I’m no’ the dallyin’ kind,” he said, taking Anwen’s hand and kissing it. “I was a soldier, and I’m fond of the ladies, but this is… you mustn’t toy with me.”

    Everlasting celestial trumpets. “You think I could toy with you?”

    “When you smile like that, you could break hearts, Miss Anwen Windham. A man wouldn’t see it coming, but then you’d swan off in a cloud of grace and dignity, and too late, he’d realize what he’d missed. He wouldn’t want to admit how foolish he’d been, but in his heart, he’d know: I should ne’er have let her get away. I should have done anything to stay by her side.”

    I am a bonfire in disguise. “You are not the only one who knows my secret. I know better now too, Colin.” She went up on her toes and kissed him. “It’s our secret.”

My thoughts on this wonderful book:

I generously received this book in exchange for an honest review. I’ve had a physical copy of this book for quite some time but I put off reading it until close to the release date because then there’d be less time to wait for the next book in the series. Bookworm logic…

This book was such a pleasure to read and I was drawn in from the beginning. Anwen is one of my favorites in the family who is just as passionate about saving the Orphanage she volunteers at as she is about her family.

Anwen is the youngest daughter, was very sick as a child which resulted in her family nearly smothering her with trying to keep her in excellent health since then, is smarter than the idiot foppish men who try to talk down to her and has a fiery nature with a big heart. She loves and protects the orphans under her care as though they’re her children and will put anyone in their place who tries to hurt them.

Colin is the second of seven kids, Scottish, a former Captain in the army, loving brother and a recently titled gentleman who is fiercely protective of those he cares for. A chance encounter with the usually quiet Anwen causes him to see that there’s more than meets the eye of the red headed lass.

These two unlikely people find themselves drawn to each other, working to save the Orphanage and attempting to ignore the growing attraction. Love will find a way though and what a Windham woman wants, good luck with stopping her!

Things are about to get more complicated though as jealousy rears its ugly head with a handful of fops that started with a drunken joke and snowballs into something much bigger. It will take patience, cunning and honesty to not only set things right but send the foolish fops on their merry way.

Full of humor, loveable urchins, the wonder of family, steamy scenes tossed into the mix and Scots which all add up to a wonderful novel. I’m so glad I read this book and can’t wait for the next book in the series!

Plus Anwen and Colin together are so adorable!! I love how honest and loving they are though good a great job of hiding their affections for a while.

So that wraps up my bookish ramblings for the time being. I’ll be spending today reading and hopefully finishing two other books before bed. I’m so glad I get to have a day to marathon read especially since it’s a rainy day.

So I’m off to curl up with a cup of hot tea and read. I will be back soon to update on my reading progress and other bookish thoughts. Please feel free to stock back, the more bookworms the better! May you always have a book nearby and lots of room to put your books!

Slainte

~Meg

P.S.

You can find me talking about bookish things and randomness in general here:

Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads
Facebook

 

#bookaddict#bookblogger #happybookworm #scots #egyptianmythology #tooscottohandle #theintuitives #trashdogmedia #graceburrowes #paperarcs #erinmichellesky #stevenbrown

Leave a Reply

