Magpie’s Song Review

Good afternoon,

I’ve been meaning to update my blog recently but alas I’ve been really busy with work which means I haven’t been able to read as much as I’d like but on the bright side, I have been doing some reading. Recently I finished a book that was in one of my favorite genres which is Steampunk! I think it may be classified as more than that but there’s mechanical dragons, automatons and horseless carriages so I’m just going to revel in the Steampunk aspects! So without further ado, I present to you:

35428398

Kindle

Barnes and Noble

I just love the cover and I hope to have a physical copy soon! I generously received an e-galley in exchange for an honest review.

Going into this book, I didn’t know a lot about it which is a good thing because then I didn’t have a mind set as to how I thought the story would be and I was able to enjoy it a lot more without expectations.

Magpie is a nineteen year old Moon Child which is a person who has light blonde hair, very fair skin and judged harshly as apparently much of society sees these people as the oddballs living in the Warrens. Her kind is harshly judged because they are immune to a disease known as The Rot that is essentially the Wasting Disease. It’s a very poor, run down area. Meridions are considered High Society and live in a huge city that floats above the town that Magpie lives in and then there’s also Brightstone which is a cross between middle and lower class. She hasn’t had an easy life but she doesn’t complain about it and instead has found a way to survive in such a harsh world where food is often scarce, being able to escape out of tricky situations is essential and having street smarts is required if you plan to reach adulthood.

She comes across a mechanical mini Dragon while salvaging to make money with her best friend Sparrow at her side which is apparently from Meridion and eventually leads to a whole heap of trouble. What trouble you say? You’ll have to read to find out! I don’t know about you but I don’t usually like to read about spoilers and because this book hasn’t been out long, I don’t want to give too much away because that would be spoiling the fun. I will say that you may need some tissues for some parts of the book!
I seriously adore Magpie and Ghost who have had their own share of hardships but work so well together. I can’t tell yet if there will be a romance there but it certainly has potential!

The mechanical dragon is so adorable and smart with a bit of a temper. It is fiercely protective of Mags and somehow manages to escape when in a locked room.

This book was a fascinating mix of Steampunk, adventure, friendship, unexpected allies, a dash of heartbreak and lots of surprises.

It was such a pleasure to read this book and I look forward to reading more in this series!

So I hope you’ve enjoyed my take on this fascinating book and highly recommend you checking it out especially if reading about Steampunk is your thing.

In other bookish news, I am in the middle of a couple of readathons which I’m not doing very well at due to working a lot but I am trying to read more so that’s a start. If you’re curious about what readathons I’m a part of, you can find out more here:

*Tome Topple Readathon with my list of what I hope to get to, but will be lucky to get to one before the end date here: Instagram

*Readathin– this is a readathon where you try to read some of the books from your to be read list pile (which I have a lot of) and I’ve posted my tentative pile on Instagram

*Austentatious Book Club – this bookclub was founded by one of my favorite YouTube Booktubers a little over a year ago and though I’m a year behind, decided to attempt to read Jane Austens novels month by month. I have a really pretty Pride and Prejudice edition that you can look at here: Instagram

So that wraps up my bookish ramblings for the time being. If you’d like to join in on the readathons I’ve posted, feel free whether you choose to do the challenges for the sake of reading, participate in the fun attached to it or put it on your list of things to do some day. Thank you so much for stopping by and I will be back soon with more bookish ramblings.

Slainte

~Meg

Leave a Reply

