A Review of Broken (In The Best Possible Way) by Jenny Lawson

Happy Saturday,

I recently finished one of my most anticipated books of this year and the wait leading up to reading it was well worth it. I’ve been a fan of Jenny’s since listening to the audiobook Furiously Happy which I highly recommend by the way and was so excited to see this book show up in the mail.

So without further ado, my thoughts on Jenny’s latest memoir.

Buy Links:

Nowhere Bookshop (Jenny’s local store)

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

My Thoughts:

I was sent an advanced read copy of this book from the publisher though all thoughts are my own and I’m so very grateful to have a copy to cherish!

Jenny talks about her struggles with depression, anxiety and other mental health issues, chronic illnesses with rheumatoid arthritis being among them along with the struggles to get the right medication while fighting with her insurance, being a mother, wife and her sense of humor. I haven’t laughed so hard reading a book in a long time which was such a wonderful feeling and was well worth the odd looks I’d get while reading this book in public.

She mentions her struggles with leaving the house, days where her depression leaves her in a fog and her memory is not very good so often she’ll forget what she’s doing or the conversations that she’s had. I found myself cheering for Jenny when she was able to go on a vacation with her family and what a natural high it brought her because it’s something she was able to do for herself as well as her family.

I found myself laughing about some aspects especially her list of why she shouldn’t to go parties, the whole chapter that was titled “Awkwarding Brings Us Together” and other awkward moments she’s encountered that I can relate to in a number of ways. It really is a struggle to sometimes have a regular conversation with someone without feeling like you’re being an odd duck to so speak. Much of what she talked about in the last chapter really hit a chord though I won’t go into details because that involved spoilers but will stay with me for some time and gives a glimpse into just how important it is to be nice to each other because you never know what things some one may be going through. I related to this book in a number of different ways as I struggle with my own mental health and I’m so glad that this book exists because it’s important to talk more about mental health and to be able to laugh about some aspects of it while also riding the roller coaster so to speak of life.

One of my favorite quotes by her that I will hold close and brought tears to my eyes (in a good way): Forgive yourself for being broken. For being you. For thinking those are things you need forgiveness for.

Whether you have read any previous books by Jenny or read her blogs or not, I highly recommend checking out this book as it is well worth a read. She has quickly become one of my favorite authors and I will happily read anything she writes.

Well that wraps up my bookish ramblings for the time being. I hope you’re having a wonderful Saturday and squeezing in as much reading as possible. I will return soon with more ramblings and have a wonderful rest of your weekend.

Slainte

~Meg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Want to find me on other media platforms?

Please feel free to click below:

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Would you like me to read your book in digital form or print? Please contact me here: Email

Leave a comment